This text is replaced by the Flash movie.
 
The Superior Schoolhouse (14391 Superior Road)
 

The Superior Schoolhouse opened its doors to many school children during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and during that time underwent many changes. In 1859, the Township Board of Education of East Cleveland purchased the land and we assume that soon thereafter, East Cleveland District 9 School, a one-story brick schoolhouse, was constructed. In about 1882, the brick building was either demolished and rebuilt or, more likely, faced with the sandstone from a nearby quarry. In 1893, a second wood-framed story was added to "Old District No. 9” to accommodate a growing population.

By 1924, the two-room schoolhouse had become too small for the burgeoning community of Cleveland Heights. Classroom uses were moved to “more modern educational” facilities, and the Board of Education used the building for its headquarters until 1928. The building stood largely vacant until 1947, when it was reopened for the education of special needs children. In 1958, the City of Cleveland Heights acquired the schoolhouse from the School Board.

 

Superior School Kids, date unknown.
 

The combination of a sandstone first story with a clapboard second story creates a one-of-a-kind building. Notable are the unique stone coursing, combination of six-over-six and one-over-one sash windows, slate roof, bell tower and slate chalkboards and woodwork inside the building.

The school was listed as the first Cleveland Heights Landmark in 1974 and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. In 1997, Cleveland Heights voters passed the Recreation Bond Issue that provided funds to historically rehabilitate the building. During this process, great care was taken to preserve much of the building’s historic integrity, including restoration of original cabinetry, woodwork, paint colors, wood siding and windows, and the reinstallation of a slate roof.

Today the Superior Schoolhouse the “Cleveland Heights Historical Center,” which is home to an archival collection and museum committed to the presentation and preservation of Cleveland Heights’ history and architecture. The Historical Center is an education resource to deepen our citizens’ commitment to preserving a rich cultural legacy for future generations.

 
 
Untitled Document
 
Historic Districts
 
Historic Structures
 
 
 
 

Cleveland Heights and The National Register of Historic Places

Lost Cleveland Heights

Researching Your House

Temple on the Heights Versus the Rockefellers

The Euclid Avenue of the Heights
(Separate browser window)

Household Names from the Heights

The Streets of Cleveland Heights

When Bad Ideas Happen to Good Suburbs

Sears Catalog Homes: The Cleveland Heights Connection

Drive By History:  Dean's Dairy

National Art Treasures in Cleveland Heights

The Firemen's "Clubhouses" of Cleveland Heights

The Kelvin Home: Cleveland Heights Leads the Way to "A New And Better Way of Living"

Local People and Local Memories: The Cleveland Heights Oral History Project

Cleveland Heights and the National Preservation Movement

Obscene History in the Heights: The Case of Nico Jacobellis and Les Amants

Cleveland Heights: A Restful Place to "Take the Cure"

The Struggle for Fair Housing in Cleveland Heights: The St. Ann Audit

Discovering Change: Cleveland Heights Congregations

Remembering Cumberland Park

Get Comfortable with the Bungalows of Cleveland Heights

   
History Feature Stories People & Places Photos & Postcards Heritage Tour Links Coventry Neighbors Contact Us Site Map Home
      Copyright © 2011. All Rights Reserved. McCam Group Website Development