Original owners Frederick Cowles
& Annie B. Crowell Herrick would
likely be delighted by the restoration
completed by the current owners of
this Tudor Revival home. Completed
in 1917, the home was among the
first designs by the partnership of
prominent architects Meade &
Hamilton. Dr. Herrick died in 1943
and his wife lived in the house until
1957. Dr. Herrick graduated from
Central High School, received his
medical degree from Western
Reserve University and practiced
general medicine in Cleveland with
a specialty in "abdominal diseases."
He was an instructor of surgery at
Western Reserve University Medical
School and at Charity Hospital.
Dr. Herrick played tennis and enjoyed
Meade & Hamilton created an
iconic Tudor Revival design on a grand scale, with steeply-pitched
roofs, large central gable, brick-clad first floor, decorative halftimbering
and stucco above, tall narrow windows clustered in groups,
and semi-hexagonal porch & window bays. A massive front door
centered under the main front gable is set back in a semi-hexagonal
porch. As was often the case, the design as built varies from the
original architectural drawings.
The 2005 restoration was a true labor of love, investing in the
next hundred years of this home's life with new kitchen & bathrooms,
stunning new roof and copper detailing, restored interior details, new
boilers and pipes, new windows, and central heating & cooling. The
current homeowners were drawn to the home for its surprisingly
comfortable human scale; even though the rooms are large and highceilinged,
they don't overwhelm. Contemporary and local artists'
paintings are found throughout the house, balancing the traditional
formality of the home with, by turns, subtle or vivid color and texture.
A massive wood staircase climbs the center of the home,
connecting the main level, the bedroom level, and the 3rd floor in one
vertically sprawling volume, giving a feeling of connection between
the floors. In the foyer, a telephone closet is behind the sunroom door,
and surprisingly for the time, a door into the attached garage.
New dark wood built-in cabinets and shelves in the library and
the faux beams in the ceiling all match the original cabinetry and style
flawlessly; rich paint colors give gravity. Across the foyer, the living
room has a light elegance, with white-painted woodwork and mantel.
Behind the living room is the tiled sunroom, originally an open porch.
Delicate blue hand-painted wallpaper in the dining room has survived
the entire life of the home. The room is oblong in shape, almost an
oval. Glass French doors at the far end open into the garden.
One long kitchen serves modern family life, replacing three
smaller rooms, where the family kitchen and maid's kitchen were
bisected by the butler's pantry. Tiled floor with radiant heating, white
cottage-style cabinets, copper fixtures, and an aged copper hood
bring a cozy feeling. Around the corner, the servants' stairs have been
opened up; where there was once a wall is now a railing, which gives
a more welcoming feeling to this functional passage. The original
incinerator chute door can be seen in the wall near the bottom of
Up the sweeping foyer staircase, the master bedroom suite
occupies the front of the home. The former fur storage vault is now
a closet; a former wood-burning fireplace has been converted to gas.
The master bathroom has a steam shower and vintage-feeling tub
tucked into the window bay, also visible from the outside. A former
sleeping porch is now an enclosed lounge area that overlooks the
Up the grand staircase once more, the top floor now hosts a
family recreation room and the former servants' suite. The north end
of the 3rd floor holds servants'quarters, where the bedrooms have
original sinks, and servants shared a bathroom.
This Harcourt gem has been renewed and restored, and is once
again a premier Cleveland Heights treasure.
Large 4-foot wide doors isolate the sleeping areas in the
Copper detail and massive brick chimneysRadiator covers both original and new created to match the