Superior Schoolhouse opened its doors to many school children during
the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and during that time underwent many
changes.In 1859, the Township Board of
Education of East Cleveland purchased the land and we assume that soon after
property transfer, East Cleveland District 9 School, a one-story brick school
house, was constructed.In about 1882,
the brick building was either demolished and rebuilt, or more likely faced with
the sandstone from a nearby quarry -- this is the first floor of today's
schoolhouse.In 1893, a second
wood-framed story was added to "Old District No. 9" to accommodate the
The 1910s were a period of tremendous growth in the Village of
Cleveland Heights, and in 1921 the City of Cleveland Heights was formed.By 1924, the two-room schoolhouse had become
too small for the burgeoning community.Classroom uses were moved from the building in early 1924, for "more
modern educational methods," and the Board of Education then used the building
for its headquarters through about 1928.Then the building stood largely vacant.From 1947 until 1964 the building was reopened for the education of
special needs children.In 1958, the
City of Cleveland Heights acquired the property from the School Board.
The combination of a sandstone first story with a clapboard second
story creates a one-of-a-kind building.Notable are the unique stone coursing, combination of six-over-six and
one-over-one sash windows, slate roof, bell tower and slate chalkboards and
woodwork inside the building.
The school was listed as the first Cleveland Heights Landmark in 1974
and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.In 1997, Cleveland Heights voters passed the
Recreation Bond Issue that provided funds to rehabilitate the building.During the rehabilitation of the Superior
Schoolhouse, great care was taken to preserve as much of the building as
possible.Cabinetry and woodwork were
repaired, original paint colors (both inside and out) were applied, original
windows were restored and reglazed, a new slate roof was added, and wood siding
was repaired.Working with the Landmark
Commission and the Ohio Historic Preservation Office, modern features added to
the facility include all new electrical, plumbing, heating and air conditioning
systems, and a handicapped-accessible entrance and restrooms.
Today, Old Schoolhouse #9 is home to The Cleveland Heights Historical
Center.Owned and operated by the City
of Cleveland Heights, the Cleveland Heights Historical Center at Superior
Schoolhouse will be home to an archival collection and museum committed to the
presentation and preservation of Cleveland Heights' history and architecture
through documentation, exhibits, and special events.The Historical Center will be an educational resource to deepen
our citizens' commitment to preserving a rich cultural legacy for future
paint colors inside and out (paint chips were microscopically analyzed).
- The restored
vintage drinking fountain and bench just inside the front door.
original restored chairs.
- Real slate
chalk boards on the first floor.
- The old coal
room, which has been converted to handicapped-accessible restrooms.